Welcome to moose theme.
Enter any text or widget here.

Six out of Six Charter Schools Renew with the South Carolina Public Charter School District

For Immediate Release: March 19, 2019

Taylor Fulcher, Director of Communications

Six out of Six Charter Schools Renew with the South Carolina Public Charter School District

Columbia, South Carolina—At the South Carolina Public Charter School District (SCPCSD) March 18th and March 19th Board of Trustees meetings, six out of six eligible charter schools were granted 10-year contract renewals, continuing their service to students and families within the SCPCSD portfolio. All six charter schools have previously been named National Blue-Ribbon Schools and/or SCPCSD Schools of Distinction for excellent student outcomes. In South Carolina, charter schools can renew their contract every 10 years under the Charter Schools Act.

The following schools were renewed with 10-year charters; Fox Creek of North Augusta, Spartanburg Prep of Spartanburg, Palmetto Scholars Academy of North Charleston, Lead Academy of Greenville, York Preparatory Academy of Rock Hill, and East Point Academy of Columbia.

In 2017, Palmetto Scholars Academy of Charleston, was named a National Blue-Ribbon School and scored in the top 5% of all high schools in South Carolina. York Preparatory Academy of Rock Hill was given the National Blue-Ribbon School distinction in 2018. The SCPCSD is the first school district to have back-to-back Blue-Ribbon winners since the early 90’s.

This school year, the SCPCSD oversees 33 public charter schools serving almost 20,000 students across the state, with two additional schools scheduled to open in Fall 2019 and eight applicants vying for new-charter approval this spring. The SCPCSD, the state’s largest and most diverse charter school authorizer, was recently named to the National AP Honor-Roll for dramatically narrowing racial and socio-economic achievement gaps in college entry exams.